Sunday, June 2, 2019

Members Awarded by Pro Club

The Lubbock Professional Club invited members from all across Division F to an awards ceremony on Saturday, June 1, 2019.

During the ceremony, members who earned an educational award of a Competent Communicator or Pathways Level 3 (or higher) between July 1, 2018, to May 31, 2019, were recognized for their achievement.

Members who received their awards in person are pictured below. All members of Division F who received awards are listed below and those who were able to attend are pictured.

Blake Burns and Stacy Cain

Stacy Cain and Jan Grams

Patti Douglass and Stacy Cain

Lisa Thomason and Stacy Cain

Stacy Cain and Melanie Perez

Stacy Cain and Tracy Thomason

  • Santa Acosta
  • Jonathan Barr
  • Charles Beasley
  • William Becker
  • John  Boyden
  • Blake Burns
  • Secundino Calderon
  • Clifford Colvin
  • Janine Deckard
  • Patti Douglass
  • Tim Evans
  • Lilia Gonzalez
  • Oscar Gonzalez
  • Jan Grams
  • Beverly Ham
  • Karan Heffelfinger
  • Mary Ann Hogan
  • Julian Hooker
  • Matthew Kennel
  • Fred MacDonald
  • Houston McKenzie
  • Leah Medlin
  • Randall Merriott
  • William Moffatt
  • Frederick Moore
  • Cody Mull
  • Shawn Overton
  • Melanie Perez
  • Ryan Pettitt
  • Anicia Plowman
  • Jessica Robertson
  • Linda Rodriguez
  • Daniel Salamanca
  • Petra Salinas-Ramos
  • Shaka Spagnoletti
  • Nelson Spear
  • Gerrie Spurgeon
  • Cletis Tatum
  • Lisa Thomason
  • Tracy Thomason
  • Delois Ware
  • Jack Westerfeldt
  • Samuel Wyatt
  • Maria Yanovskaya
  • Jennifer Zappone

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Davis & Thomason Honored

Two Lubbock residents and members of local Toastmasters clubs were honored for their service to Toastmasters International on May 18, 2019, during the District 23 Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Kim Davis receives the Division Director of the Year award
from District Director Jenny Zappone.
Kim Davis, an employee of Mosaic and a member of the Toasters Club, received the Division Director of the Year award for the 2017-2018 program year. Kim served the district as the Division F Director and supported clubs in Lubbock, Hobbs, Portales, Clovis, Lovington, Midland, Odessa, and Fort Stockton. She set up trainings, organized speaking contests, and helped grow new clubs. In addition, she acted as the conference chair for the 2018 conference in Lubbock.

"I was honored to receive this award and honored to serve with a great group of Area Directors who really made this award possible," said Davis. "It was my great privilege to lead Division F in the 2017-18 Toastmasters year."

Tracy Thomason, an employee of Providence Health and Services and a member of the Toasters Club, Lubbock Club, and Lubbock Professional Club, received the Robert E. Barnhill III CompaƱero award for the 2017-18 program year. This award is given to a past district officer who has continued to serve the district and the organization. Tracy served as an advisor to the district leaders, helped struggling clubs, developed marketing campaigns, and assisted with trainings. Tracy is also a current member of the Toastmasters International Board of Directors.

Tracy Thomason receives the Robert E. Barnhill III
CompaƱero award from District Director Jenny Zappone.
"I am deeply honored to receive this award which was named for one of my mentors, Bob Barnhill," said Thomason. "Bob meant the world to me and I am honored to carry on his work of supporting Toastmasters International."

District 23 supports nearly 100 clubs across New Mexico, the Oklahoma Panhandle, and the western third of Texas. Lubbock as eleven clubs which meet at different times, different days, and different locations across the city. You can find all of them on our Find a Club page.

Thursday, February 21, 2019

South Plains Club Celebrates 50th Anniversary

South Plains Toastmasters club, the oldest Toastmasters group in Lubbock, celebrated its 50th anniversary on February 14, 2019.

Chartered in late 1968, the club is always among the largest clubs in Lubbock, They meet every Thursday at noon in the Lubbock National Bank boardroom at 1001 Main Street, Lubbock, Texas.

Long-time members Kyle Short and Larry Doss shared their Toastmasters experiences with the group as they look forward to their next 50 years.